Where Are The Girls

Image

The kidnapping of Nigerian school girls is chilling. What kind of society punishes education and the thirst for knowledge because of your sex?

As I read the news articles, I couldn’t help empathize with the mothers of those young women. What cruelties are being wreaked upon their daughters? Will they die in captivity, starved, beaten, raped? Will they ever see their girls again?

My son’s death wasn’t violent. It wasn’t a sudden ripping apart from the family. He didn’t die alone. My grief is for his life cut short, and I miss him every day. But I don’t agonize over the unimaginable misery as those Nigerian mothers. Let’s do what we can to stop this terrible social travesty.

 

Leave a Reply

