Freedom lost

Every human responds differently to loss. Some are stoic, stiff-upper-lip. Others break down in weeping and gnashing of teeth. I find myself settling into a pity party of epic proportions. “Nothing is good about my life,” I lament. “I never get a break.”
I’ve been caring for my 89-year old mother, who was recently released from a convalescent hospital. My freedom to come and go has been severely curtailed. I feel like a caged bird. I’m grieving over the loss of my independence, loss of time, money, energy. I’m grieving over my mother’s loss of the same things. I carry her loss like another brick that I must drag behind me.
How do you respond to loss? Do you kick and scream against the unfairness of life? Are you stoic, bending slowly under each additional burden? Or do you rejoice in suffering, know that it produces perseverance?

2 thoughts on “Freedom lost

  1. I think people respond at different times in all the ways you mentioned. They call it the grieving process and like any other process it evoles. Your level of acceptance changes as time goes by but then you have times where you are reduced to tears when you remember that person. And it’s hard to get away from asking God why this had to happen.

Leave a Reply

