Sharp edges

Someone asked me a few months ago what the main thing was I took from the experience of losing Bobby. Without thinking, I blurted, “That my world isn’t safe. I’m not immune from catastrophe.” I’d lost my innocence. I’d always thought if I lived my life as a good Christian, I’d walk through life, while not unscathed, certainly not vulnerable to disaster. I’ve been stripped of my ability to look at life through rose-colored glasses. Instead I search for danger lurking in the shadows, careful to avoid the dark corners and sharp edges so I could avoid being hurt again.

Leave a Reply

