You’ve Been Validated!

I watched  a short film on YouTube called “Validation.” It starred T.J. Thyne, who plays one of the “squints” on the TV show Bones. In the movie, the main character encourages everyone who comes to his booth with phrases like “You’re great!” “You have a nice smile.” “You’re wonderful.”

Everyone searches for validation in different ways. For me, it’s my boss telling me I’m doing a good job. It’s my husband saying, “Great meal, honey!” I feel validated when my critique group tells me they can’t put my manuscript down.

Have you noticed how fleeting validation is? It only lasts until the next disappointment wipes away the high. When I get criticism on my writing, I immediately crash to the depth. I can’t write. I’m a bad employee. I can’t cook. I can’t do anything right.

I’m glad I don’t have to stay down in the pit. My ultimate validation comes from the One who looked down and saw me worthy of sending His Son to leave Heaven, suffer the indignity of being a baby, and knew He was born to die. That’s validation.

Leave a Reply

