Addiction

Addiction: the state of being enslaved to a habit or practice or to something that is psychologically or physically habit-forming, as narcotics, to such an extent that its cessation causes severe trauma.

Have you ever said, “I’m addicted to coffee.” or “I’m addicted to Starbucks.” I’ve used the word lightly, even in humor, to describe something I think I can’t live without. Lately, though, I’ve seen first-hand the devastating effect of what a real addiction looks like. It’s not pretty. Addiction makes a person do things, say things, in order to perpetuate their addiction.

I’m writing this because someone I love has an addiction to alcohol he can’t control. It’s painful to watch. I hurt because I can’t do anything for him. I’d love to hear your stories of how you’ve dealt with a friend or family member who has a drug or alcohol problem.

3 thoughts on “Addiction

  1. My golden child is also an addict. Heroine is her drug of choice. It hurts every single day. It hurts when she is clean, and it hurts when she’s using. It’s a monster, an evil, a living thing to fight constantly. I pray every day that the world will be rid of addictions of all kinds. Love your addict with all your heart, but hate the addiction with equal effort
    Peace to you

  2. My late father, Larry was addicted to narcotics since 1998. He craved the ‘high’ that narcotic pain killers can give when you first take them. He was asked to leave our house in 2002. We had a protective gate that was 3′ tall to keep the dogs from running out. He was so ‘high’ or under the influence of drugs that he tripped and fell flat on his face. He couldn’t control his addiction. Whether he tried just getting his dose every four hours or he tried to take the meds on his own, he craved the ‘high’ that he first got with the pills. Eventually, my mom got out of California before the market crashed.
    I get the same narcotic Rx that my father got because of my physical pain from the car accident. I manage my 6 pills a day just fine. I haven’t asked my Dr. for an increase in the # of pills I take in 10 years. I have metal rods holding my pelvis in place. My dad had chronic pelvis pain that he used narcotics for. He just make different choices in life.
    I am 34 and I have known Mike and Jane Daly for 25 years. I went to school with their children, Heather Duncan and Bobby Daly.

Leave a Reply

