Wait a Minute!

I finished a book last night about a woman whose husband left her. As it turns out, his girlfriend was pregnant, while the wife hadn’t been able to conceive. As I read, I thought, wait a minute! That’s what my next book was going to be about! It’s true that there is nothing new under the sun. What is different is the writer’s perspective. Plots change, characters change, but the premise may stay the same.

If you put ten writers in a room and said, “Write about a snowstorm in July,” you’d have ten unique and interesting stories. After I got over my dismay that my story line had been taken, I stepped back, took a deep breath, and told myself that I had something to say about the situation that is different from everyone else.

What is your unique story? What perspective do you bring? Find your voice.

 

Leave a Reply

