Unlikeable People

There are some people who you instantly connect with as soon as you meet. Sometimes you feel like you’ve know them forever. There’s an instant bond forged.
Then there are others who you meet and there is a disconnect. Sometimes it’s even an active dislike. You hear them talk and you want to turn away and tune them out in disgust.
Our natural tendency is to do just that – to avoid that person; ignore them and pretend that they don’t exist. But I’m discovering that when I’m in that place, there is all the more reason to lean into that one who drives me crazy. There is probably something there for me, if I will only take the time to look for it. It takes me from my natural tendency to a “super” natural place. As I grow older and, I hope, wiser, I want to expand my view of the world and of others rather than to narrow it down. I want other, younger people, to see me as gracious and kind, accepting and forebearing.
How about you? Can you take time to get to know that co-worker, acquaintance, fellow church-goer, and see them with different eyes?

Leave a Reply

