Life is Inconvenient

When I look at how God works in my life, I must admit that it can be inconvenient at times. It was inconvenient for Bobby to die. It was inconvenient for Mike to lose his job. It’s inconvenient that we have to cook for my mom every night.
When I look at my life’s circumstances as God’s grace to me, I have to stop making the distinction between “good” and “bad” circumstances. Grace is defined as “undeserved favor.” How can these crummy, inconvenient circumstances be undeserved favor? More like undeserved punishment! That’s where I have to stop looking at myself as the center of the universe. That’s when I have to use my eyes of faith. Huh? Yeah, the judgement between good and bad is not situational or circumstantial. Convenient or inconvenient, God’s working in my life just is. I can either accept it with grace (there’s that word again!) or chafe against it. My choice, His Grace.

Leave a Reply

