Anger, Sinning and stuff

The Bible says, “Be angry and do not sin. Don’t let the sun go down on your anger.” This verse is used a lot in marriage counseling. The premise is that it’s okay to argue, but you must make up before going to bed. Otherwise you will end up with a valley the size of the Grand Canyon between you and your spouse. You wake up to unforgiveness and bitterness. Not good!
But lately I’ve been thinking of that verse in terms of everyday life and ALL my relationships. When someone does something to me, either inadvertently or on purpose, I need to forgive them before I go to bed. Even if someone does something that I perceive as ill, but they may be unaware of the offense.
One of Jesus’ disciples asked Him how many times he had to forgive someone. Seven times? Jesus said, “No, seventy times seven.” In ONE DAY! This gives me a very clear picture of what Scripture says in the verse, “do not let the sun go down on your anger.”
If I can put aside all my grievances, not only will I sleep in peace, but I’ll wake up new. Have you ever had a child who threw a temper tantrum at bedtime and cried herself to sleep? The next morning, you’d never know that all that drama had taken place. The child wakes up fresh, greeting the day with innocent enthusiasm.
That’s how God wants us to be, for our OWN GOOD. Child-like, clean and renewed with our consciences clean.

One thought on “Anger, Sinning and stuff

Leave a Reply

