You Make Me Want To Be Better

There is a scene in the movie “As Good As It Gets” where Jack Nicholson is trying hard to come up with a compliment for Helen Hunt. He thinks and thinks. Just when Helen is ready to leave him in the restaurant in disgust, he blurts out, “You make me want to be a better man.” She can’t resist. I’ve been thinking about how the death of someone close to you changes you. Some become bitter and angry at God for “taking” their loved one. I’d like to think that I am becoming a better person because of Bobby’s death. It’s my way of redeeming his death; to be stronger yet more sensitive to the suffering of others. I want to be able to say that I am different because of him. Somehow it helps me believe that his death was not in vain.

2 thoughts on “You Make Me Want To Be Better

  1. That’s a wonderful way to pay tribute to your son – to go on being your best you, and I’m positive he’s so proud of you. xoxox

Leave a Reply

