I Don’t Know What To Say!

I attended a conference a couple of weeks ago after returning from Colorado. I sat with a guy I had met once; business acquaintance. He could not stop talking about his son. He was a senior in high school and apparently a jazz musician prodigy. But that’s not the part that bothered me. As he raved and raved about his son’s musical ability, all I could think was, “What if he asks me how many kids I have?” I began to panic. My mind tuned him out and began to spin: Do I say I only have one grown daughter? Do I go into any kind of detail such as, I had two but now I only have one? Around and around in my brain like the agitation of a sock in a washing machine. Head pounding, heart racing, I finally had to excuse myself. I couldn’t even stay for the rest of the conference! This, too, is a part of grief.

2 thoughts on “I Don’t Know What To Say!

  1. Jane Sweetie, You have two children. One is just in heaven. Bobby lives on in your heart, therefore he is alive. Your relationship with him will never end. Notice I said “have” in the first sentence. Grief is hard, but necessary. Let it happen. You are loved deeply by me and many others. Lean on your friends.

  2. Jane, I know what you mean. My brother lost his 17 year old son this past October. They HAVE 7 children. Keith dealt with that issue and he said that he will always say that he HAS 7 children. They have had a difficult time dealing with all of the “firsts” without Jeremy but God is their strength and as Kathy said, LEAN ON YOUR FRIENDS and mostly, on Jesus! We love you and Mike so much and you are in our prayers.

Leave a Reply

