A Needed Break

A friend shared a funny story in church the other day. His 10-year-old son had a really bad day and left this note: “Mom, I am leaving to go to a better place.” There was more, but it made me think about the times when I want to leave my life for a better place. I have shared with Mike that I’d love to get on a plane and fly somewhere, anywhere, to escape my life right now. But the reality, as we all know, is that the circumstances don’t go away. I can’t escape. HOWEVER, God is gracious in that I feel like I’ve been given a break from the heaviness since Bobby has been in treatment in Reno. I don’t know if it’s because he’s close by and I’ve seen him every weekend, or if it’s because we finally have some hope. Whatever it is, I am happy to have a little relief from the pressing weight of wondering “How much longer?”

Leave a Reply

