Monsters

When I was a young child, at bedtime, I thought that if I left any part of my body uncovered that monsters would come and nibble the exposed parts. So every night, I would pull the covers up right under my eyes, making sure that not even a tiny bit of ear or nose showed. Eventually I grew out of this fear. Then I had my own kids and had to convince THEM that there were no monsters hiding under the bed or in the closet, or down a dark hallway. Now that I’m an adult, I know that there really ARE monsters. They may not hide in the closet or under the bed, but they are just as real and they wait until you are unprotected; then they pounce. Sometimes they hide in your son’s chest. They grow, quietly and insidiously and there is no monster spray (water) that can kill them. They come unexpectedly, like a tsunami on a summer day. They leave devastation and destruction. But we go on, we clean up the mess, we take the chemicals, endure the surgery, and sometimes we even get to kill the monster.

Leave a Reply

