When I was a kid, I remember waking up in the morning and thinking, “Something’s new…” Then I would remember. It could have been as simple as “I’m going to spend the weekend at my grandparent’s.” Or “Today’s the day I get my new bike.” Or even, “I have a new outfit to wear to school today.” If the event or “thing” was a few days away, it was always in the back of my mind. No matter how bad the day went, I would always think, “But there’s THAT.” And I would be happy.
I have found through this walk with our Golden Child, that the opposite is true. When I am having a good day; when I am celebrating some small success at work; when I am enjoying riding my bike or driving in my car with the top down; there’s a little thought lurking in the back of my mind, “But…..he’s ill.” Just like the childhood lift of anticipation, there’s an immediate seriousness. Not that I am overcome with grief at that point, but there comes a soberness that all is not right with my world.100_2819

One thought on “

  1. Aloha Sweet Jane! This would be a sobering thing in any parents life. Yet, you have walked thru this with suach an amazing amount of gracefulness. Remember that life is indeed for enjoying every breath and heartbeat and breeze and bird. It is for living – Bobby is fighting; he is not giving up. Rejoice with him in that and know that the Lord will indeed show Himself strong.

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

